Hochzeiten (Weddings)

Rosalie’s mother is working at a snack stall, she will soon turn sixty and become Faisal’s wife. Rosalie is introduced to the young groom over a Sunday lunch with roast pork. Faisal’s teeth are a little tilted, he has a big family but no permanent residency. Soon Rosalie’s belly becomes round; but not by her married lover, the so-called financial shark.

Jule meets Gunnar after her car breaks down, close to the coves of Västervik. They make love behind a bush and it smells and sticks like strawberry icecream. Gunnar’s wife has lips like a duck’s beak, his child is flaxen-haired. He writes the manuals for a big furniture company. Jule’s midsummer takes her to the do-it-yourself section.

It is always love or something like it. Maike Wetzel’s stories don’t start at the beginning and don’t stop at the end, they roam the streets, they casually touch upon life. Not sentimental but funny, salted with strange despair.

Hochzeiten

» Reviews

„Maike Wetzel has the ability to create a very dense atmosphere in her texts. I hope these stories will reach many readers.”
INGRID NOLL (author of The Pharmacist, Hell hath no Fury, Head Count)

„Maike Wetzel’s stories and characters are torn out of the diffuse muddle of life – sharp-egdged, laconic and poetic.”
TANKRED DORST (playwright/writer/director)

» Reviews

  • Za lot of rezensions you can find here

» Examples

  • a short story: Hochzeiten - download (pdf, German)
  • a short story: Einmal Schweden - download (pdf, German)

» to buy

  • Hochzeiten von Maike Wetzel. Erzählungen Fischer, Frankfurt am Main 2000. 128 p. 
    9,95 €, ISBN 3-596-22398-9
  • The book "HOCHzeiten" you can order here.

Hochzeiten

Rosalies Mutter arbeitet in der Kaufhalle am Imbissstand, hat früher mit Autos gehandelt, wird bald sechzig und Faisals Frau. Rosalie lernt den jungen Bräutigam ihrer Mutter beim Schweinebraten kennen. Faisal hat einen kleinen Überbiss und eine große Familie, aber keine Aufenthaltsgenehmigung. Dann bekommt Rosalie einen dicken Bauch; allerdings nicht von ihrem Geliebten, dem Finanzhai.

Jule lernt Gunnar kennen, als ihr Wagen bei den Schären von Västervik liegen bleibt. Sie haben Sex hinter einem Busch und es riecht und klebt wie Erdbeereis. Gunnar ist verheiratet mit einer Frau mit Entenlippen und hat ein flachsblondes Kind, er schreibt Bauanleitungen für einen Möbelkonzern. Jules Mittsommer führt sie zum Selbstbedienungsregal.

Immer ist es die Liebe oder so etwas. Maike Wetzels Geschichten fangen am Anfang nicht an und hören am Ende nicht auf, sie streifen rastlos durch die Gegend, folgen beiläufig dem Leben. Ungerührt komisch, mit lustiger Verzweiflung.

Hochzeiten

» KRITIKEN

"Maike Wetzel hat die Fähigkeit, in ihren Texten eine sehr dichte Atmosphäre zu beschwören. Ich wünsche mir, dass diese Geschichten viele Leser finden.“ INGRID NOLL

„Maike Wetzel hat ihre Geschichten und Personen aus dem diffusen Durcheinander des Lebens scharfkantig herausgerissen, lapidar und poetisch.“ TANKRED DORST

» PRESSESTIMMEN

  • Zahlreiche Kritiken finden Sie hier.

» LESEPROBEN

» BESTELLEN

  • Hochzeiten von Maike Wetzel. Erzählungen Fischer, Frankfurt am Main 2000. 128 S.
    9,95 €, ISBN 3-596-22398-9
  • HOCHzeiten bestellen: hier